Degree Channels that separate Islands in India

Andaman & Nicobar Islands is a group of over 572 Islands, islets and rocks(36 of which are inhabited) in the Bay of Bengal.

  • Eight Degree Channel separates Lakshadweep from Maldives.
  • Nine Degree Channel separates Minicoy island from Lakshadweep.
  • Ten degree channel separates little Andaman from Car Nicobar.

1. Andaman & Nicobar Island Important Facts

Duncun Passage separates Little Andaman from South Andaman.
Middle Andaman is the Largest Oceanic Island of India.
Saddle Peak is the Highest Peak of Andaman & Nicobar and is situated in North Andaman.
Indira Point is the Southern most point of india(6.5°) situated in Great Nicobar.
Barren Island is the Only Active Island of India which is situated in Andaman Sea.

Degree Channel States
Eight Degree Lakshadweep – Maldives
Nine Degree Minicoy Island – Lakshadweep
Ten Degree Little Andaman – Car Nicobar

Recently 3 Islands in Andaman & Nicobar Names are changed by PM Narendra Modi. They are

  • Ross Island is renamed as Nethaji Subash Chandra Bose Dweep.
  • Neil Island is renamed as Shaheed Dweep
  • Havelock Island is renamed as Swaraj Dweep

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *